Texas Tater Tot Casserole

3 Jun

The last supper… but not really. I made my free range chicken and a delectable dish of spaghetti, and now it was time for my last post for my free-range farming senior project. I was researching things to make, and wasn’t coming up with anything that sparked my interest. Then it hit me like a pile of bricks. I had a flash back to a summer long ago when I lived in Texas. I was at my friend’s house and her mom made us a tater tot casserole. It was the best combustion of food that I have ever experienced! It’s pretty much a cheeseburger and tater tots all smooshed together into one volcano of goodness. I immediately went to the store to get all my ingredients.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 lb free-range ground beef
1 can (10 3/4 oz) cream of chicken soup
1/2 soup can of water
1/2 cup chopped onion
Tater Tots
shredded cheddar cheese
mixed salt and pepper to taste

Here’s how you make it work:

  • Brown ground beef in skillet; add onions.

  • Cook until done; drain.

  • Put in casserole dish; add hot soup and water.

My helper: Nick

  • Put Tater Tots on top.
  • Bake in oven according to Tater Tot package directions.

  • When done, put cheese on top and add a bit of mixed salt. (If you don’t have mixed, regular will do.)

  • Place back in oven until cheese melts.

And that’s it! It’s a really simple recipe that everyone will LOVE! I brought it to the 3rd grade class I was teaching and they loved it! Here’s a picture of them with a free-range farm model we made.

Leave a Reply

